Albums Uninterrupted; U2 – War

On February 28th, 1983, Irish rock band U2 released ‘War” their studio third album. The album was in part politically motivated and influenced by the bands perception of the world at the time, which Bono himself confirmed when he stated “war seemed to be the motif for 1982.” The album was highlighted with such singles as “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and “New Years Day”

While the central themes of U2’s previous albums ‘Boy’ and ‘October’ were vastly more optimistic with themes of adolescence and spirituality. ‘War’ took a more stark and dire turn with it’s song writing, focusing on both the physical and emotional aspects of warfare. Musically, it is also harsher than the band’s previous releases.

Join Robin LaRose on Wednesday, February 28th @ 6 p.m. as he takes you back to 1983 with U2 and ‘War’ only on Rock 101, Vancouver’s Greatest Hits!

Side one:
1. “Sunday Bloody Sunday” 4:38
2. “Seconds” 3:09
3. “New Year’s Day” 5:37
4. “Like a Song…” 4:48
5. “Drowning Man” 4:12

Side two:
1. “The Refugee” (produced by Bill Whelan) 3:40
2. “Two Hearts Beat as One” 4:00
3. “Red Light” 3:46
4. “Surrender” 5:34
5. “40” 2:36