David Bowie Heroes

‘Heroes’ was considered the second installment in David Bowie’s Berlin trilogy and his work with Brian Eno. In 1977, West Berlin was a dangerous and spooky place to conceive an album – but that was what Bowie wanted.

Further exploring their collaborative efforts and sonic innovations, Bowie and Eno’s instrumentals are more detailed and evolved. Once again broken into two contrasting sides, one vocal and one instrumental. What truly set ‘Heroes’ apart in Bowie’s work in Berlin was Robert Fripp on guitar. The electricity generated between Bowie, Eno, and Fripp is the reason ‘Heroes’ still lives and breathes to this day.

Join Robin LaRose on Friday, October 14 @ 6 p.m. as he takes you back to 1977 with David Bowie and ‘Heroes’ only on Rock 101 – Vancouver’s Classic Rock!

Heroes Track List

Side one
1. “Beauty and the Beast” 3:32
2. “Joe the Lion” 3:05
3. “‘Heroes’” 6:07
4. “Sons of the Silent Age” 3:15
5. “Blackout” 3:50
Side two
1. “V-2 Schneider” 3:10
2. “Sense of Doubt” 3:57
3. “Moss Garden” 5:03
4. “Neuköln” 4:34
5. “The Secret Life of Arabia” 3:08