‘The Wall’ – Pink Floyd Album Celebration

Arguably one of Pink Floyd’s most conceptual and ambitious albums, The Wall was truly the crowing accomplishment of Roger Waters work with the band, almost entirely composed by Waters himself.

The album documented the rise and fall of a rock star (named Pink Floyd), based on Roger Waters own experiences on tour and the tendencies he’d observed in people around him. Waters’ developed the concept of a figurative ‘Wall’ further to include feelings of isolation, problems with authority, and loss, documenting the journey of ‘Pink’ through the album.

The album itself contains a mighty 26 songs (which, by comparison is nearly the total amount of songs COMBINED on their four previous albums!)

One of the bestselling albums of 1980, The Wall has sold over 30 million and topped the charts in six different countries. Pink Floyd ‘The Wall’ followed as a major motion picture in 1982. The band followed the album up with a massive tour which included the building (AND tearing down) of a 40-foot high wall of cardboard bricks on stage.

Join Robin LaRose on Tuesday November 30th @ 6 p.m. as he takes you back to 1979 with Pink Floyd and The Wall. Only on Rock 101 – Vancouver’s Greatest Hits!

The Wall Track List

Side one

  1. “In the Flesh?”                                                  3:16
  2. “The Thin Ice”                                                    2:27
  3. “Another Brick in the Wall, Part 1”            3:11
  4. “The Happiest Days of Our Lives”              1:46
  5. “Another Brick in the Wall, Part 2”            3:59
  6. “Mother”                                                            5:32

Side two

  1. “Goodbye Blue Sky”                                        2:45
  2. “Empty Spaces”                                2:10
  3. “Young Lust”                                                      3:25
  4. “One of My Turns”                                           3:41
  5. “Don’t Leave Me Now”                                  4:08
  6. “Another Brick in the Wall, Part 3”            1:18
  7. “Goodbye Cruel World”                 1:16

Side three

  1. “Hey You”                                                            4:40
  2. “Is There Anybody Out There?”                 2:44
  3. “Nobody Home”                                               3:26
  4. “Vera”                                                                  1:35
  5. “Bring the Boys Back Home”                        1:21
  6. “Comfortably Numb”                                      6:23

Side four

  1. “The Show Must Go On”                               1:36
  2. “In the Flesh”                                                     4:15
  3. “Run Like Hell”                                                  4:20
  4. “Waiting for the Worms”                              4:04
  5. “Stop”                                                                   0:30
  6. “The Trial”                                                           5:13
  7. “Outside the Wall”                                           1:41